HomeUncategorizedRound 4 Pukekohe Preview

Round 4 Pukekohe Preview

Courtesy of Matt Smith

The final round of the 2021 North Island Series will take place this weekend Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th June.

In the 2Hour Race there are four competitors that are in contention to take out the inaugural 2Hour Clubmans Race Series. Brendan Murphy and Brock Cooley are sitting in first position with 190points while Wayne Leach and Paul Burborough sit second on 180 sitting 10 points back in their BMW 235i while Round 1 winners Shane Parsons and Lindsay Lyons sit second on 177points while Todd and Rhys Bawden sit fourth on 172Points.

In Class 1 Leach and Burborough are leading the series on 190points with Stu Monteith and Brett Rudd in their Holden Commodore VE Ute on 181points while Todd and Rhys Bawden sit third on 180points.

Class 2 is currently being led by Brendan Murphy and Brock Cooley on 190points with Scott Smith and Shaun van Beers sit second on 180points Consistent driving by Glen Reid and Jamie Anderson have pit their BMW E36 328 in third positions while Martin Dunn and Andrew Johnston are third on 172points.

Shane Parsons and Lindsay Lyons are leading class 3 in their Honda CR-X on 190points while Marco Giltrap and Simon Evans are second in the standings in class 3 they will not be attending Round 4 as a result of Giltrap’s injuries suffered in the 3Hour crash at Taupo. One point back in third is David Grigor 180points and will be determined to get a class win after narrowly missing out at Round 1 and strategy errors costed class win at Round 2.

In the 1Hour Glenn Smith and John de Veth are leading GT-A and Overall 1Hour standings with Anthony Leighs in his Audi R8 LMS Ultra.

While John Midgley sit third in the Championship and leads GT-B with Kris Bostock in second while Blair McDonald is in third however Richie Stanaway will make his return to racing in GT-B driving a Toyota Camry TLX.

Sean Kirkpatrick and James Webb lead GT-C while Geoff Short is still in second despite deciding to race his Audi in the 1Hour instead of his Porsche. Lochlainn Fitzgerald-Symes will be desperate for a class win to finish a frustrating season on a high.

Brock Timperley and John McIntyre lead Class 1 with Tim Martin and Luke Neuberger are in second. Grant Aitken and Grant Liston are in third in their Porsche 996.

Gene Rollinson leads Class 2 with Rhys Gould in second.

In the 3Hour the big talking point is that Neil Foster/Jonny Reid have announced they will not take part in the final round which will put Alex Riberas and Darren Kelly in Pole Position to take out the series.

Glenn Smith and John de Veth may be able to take out second place in the final round while Andrew Fawcett and Sam Fillmore will be looking to build on momentum from Taupo with another podium.

Stephan Harrison and Shane Murland lead GT-B in their Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT8R GT4 while Tony and Seaton Head lead Class 1 in their Toyota Altezza

Leave a comment