HomeUncategorizedFoster and Reid defend their National 3 Hour Trophy

Foster and Reid defend their National 3 Hour Trophy

Neil Foster and Jonny Reid have successfully defended the New Zealand Endurance 3Hour Championship for 2019 from Pole Position on Saturday 16 of November

The race started with drama where the Golden Holmes/Race Lab Audi TT of Shane Helms and Rob Bolland spun on Lap 1 at turn 3 on the International Circuit. North Island champions Glenn Smith lead for the first hour of the race with Neil Foster breathing down his neck

Jonny Reid took over driving duties from Neil Foster just over the 1hour mark just after Glenn Smith handed over to John de Veth on the McLaren 650 S also around this time Rhys Gould driving the Racer Products Lamborghini Gallardo R-EX GT3 suffered a puncture after a off at turn 1 around the 45minute mark he handed the car over to Gene Rollinson for the reminder of the race.

The first and only safety car of the race happened when the Mathew McCullough and Liam Foster Honda Civic EP3 pulled over at turn four where most of the field made their driver swaps and Jonny Reid took over the lead

Around 20minutes later the Ben Coffin and Sam Bushell Mazda RX7 was given the mechanical black flag for smoke coming out from the right rear tyre which was cause by a diff issue

Both Reid and De Veth cars made their second pit stop around the South Island were Neil Foster and Jonny Reid would eventually win the race and GT-A from Glenn Smith & John de Veth in second and Dan & Jon Udy coming home is first.

Anthony Leighs & Paul Kelly won GT-B the Golden Holmes Audi TT won Class 1 with Shane Helms and Rob Bolland. Lochlainn Fitzgerald Symes won Class 2 in his racing return with Matt Penney and Geoff Manks and Marty Brown took Class 3 in their Toyota 86

Overall & GT-A

1st 1NZ Neil Foster & Jonny Reid Audi R8 International Motorsport

2nd 91 Glenn Smith & John de Veth McLaren 650 S SBT Motorsport

3rd 36 Dan & Jon Udy Audi R8 Strakos Energy


1st 23 Anthony Leighs & Paul Kelly Porsche 991 Gen 2 Caryle Performance

2nd 111 Stephan Harrison & Stephan Tomkins Aston Martin Vantage GT4 Race Lab

Class 1

1st 77 Shane Helms & Rob Bolland Audi TT VLN Golden Holmes Race Lab

2nd 635 Glen Chappel & Shaun Varney BMW 150D E87 Bel Energy

3rd 44 Todd & Rhys Bawden BMW M235i Online Contractors

Class 2

1st 26 Lochlainn Fitzgerald Symes & Matt Penney Honda Civic TCR FK2 Capri Racing

2nd 961 David Rogers & Brian Green Mitsubishi Evo10 Ascot Radiology

Class 3

1st 868 Geoff Manks & Marty Brown Toyota 86

2nd 46 Robert & Jeff Drum Subaru BRZ

Leave a comment