HomeUncategorizedChester Storms to National 1 Hour Victory

Chester Storms to National 1 Hour Victory

Nick Chester stormed to Victory from Pole Position has and broken history to win the New Zealand National 1Hour Championship driving for the North Island Endurance breaking a 4 year South Island record.

The race started with a moment of silence to remember former NIERDC racer Derin Greenslade who sadly lost his life last week at age 54.

However the drama was already starting with Glen Collinson in his V8 Ute, and Karl Rastrick in his ex- Brock Cooley Ford Falcon FG V8 Super Tourer failing to make the start.

The Collins Motorsport Mustang would be the next car to retire in the first 10mintes from there everyone settled into a rhythm where car 4 Shaun Varney was the first to blink to pit around the 25minute mark to swap tyres and hand over to Glen Chappel.

John Midgley was running in second position but retiered half-way through the race.

Jarrod Owens would take over the lead temperialy after dropping to low as sixth during the opening lap but slowly got his back up to second one by one however Nick Chester took over the lead once again once Owens pitted.

However Varney/Chappel gamble to pit early back fired when the pulled out in the final 10 minutes of the race.

Sam McNeil finished third in the Tim O’Connor owned Ferrari 458 challenge while Sean Kirkpatrick drove from starting in Pit Lane to finish 5th. Jordan Michels won class 2 in his TCR FK7 Honda Civic while OSCA/SS Cup racer Tim Dossett from Dossett Motorsport can put loosing Class 3 in the South Island behind him with taking out Class 3.

Overall and GT-B

1st Nick Chester Holden Commodore VZ Super Car Chester’s Pluming & Bathrooms

2nd Jarrod Owens Porsche 997 Cup S Solar Solutions Jarrod Owens Motorsport

3rd Sam McNeil Ferrari 458 Challenge Vodafone Automotive

Class 1

1st 71 Andy Duffin Mazda RX7 3 Rotar Racing

2nd 22 Cameron McCormack/ Marion Vujcich Porsche 996

3rd 54 Darryl Clarke Ford Falcon Woll Cookware Ford Tools

Class 2

1st 28 Jordan Michels Honda Civic TCR FK7 Team Williams

2nd 3 Paul Muldoon Honda Civic EK P&B Automotive

3rd 36 Nick Archibald Subaru WRX Sti Food Chain

Class 3

1st 119 Tim Dossett Honda Civic EF Dossett Motorsport Carters Tyre Service

2nd 222 Todd Foster Toyota 86 Post Haste International Motorsport

Leave a comment