HomeUncategorizedNIERDC History Class 3

NIERDC History Class 3

The North Island Endurance Series will enter it’s 7th season in 2020 so let’s have a look back at some of the class winners starting with the entry level class Class3 1601-2000cc.

2014 – In the first year of the North Island Endurance Series Class 3 was won by Paul & James Smith in the 1hour driving a Honda Integra 2K Cup Car While David Grigor & Gavin Yortt won the three hour division driving their Honda Civic FD2

Moving on to 2015 Ash Blewett won the 1Hour driving a Toyota 86 from Garry Morrell in a Honda Integra DC2 & South Islander Grant Aitkin driving another Toyota 86 while another Honda Civic FD2 in the hands of Mike Eddy & Mark Corbett won the 3hour from Marty McCullough/ Ian Foster finishing second in third Hayden Johnston & Damon Jackson in their Honda S2000.

2016 would see Reid Harker come back from a DNF at the first round held at Taupo to Clinch the 1Hour division with Tom Stokes finishing second in another Toyota 86 with Scott McCaskie finishing third in a BMW E30 moving on to the three-hour Hayden & Preston Johnston took top prize from Mike Eddy & Mark Corbett in their Honda Civic FD2 & Stefan Calcott & Robert Young finishing third.

In 2017 Oliver Heycoop won Class 3 in the 1Hour from Jordan Baldwin in a Toyota 86 & Jack Milligan driving another Toyota 86. While in the 3Hour Stefan Calcott finally won Class 3 in front of Marty McCullough & Ian Foster with Hayden Johnston & Preston Johnston finishing on the last step of the Podium.

2018 would see an Toyota 86 invasion for the 1hour with Carevets Scholarship winners Arran Crighton & Callum Hedge came home first & second in class while Sam Wright took out the final spot on the podium while Stefan Calcott would go back to back for the three hour with Marty McCullough & Ian Foster finishing second while Matt McCullough driving with Liam Foster cam home in third driving a Honda Civic EP3.

In 2019 was the first time a Toyota 86 had won Class 3 for both the 1Hour & 3Hour with Todd Foster son of Neil Foster taking out the 1Hour in front of Simeon Woolsey in a Honda Integra DC2 & Hugh Gardiner in the ex-Mike Eddy Honda Civic FD2. While Geoff Manks & Marty Brown took out the three- hour race without winning a race from the Subaru BRZ of Robert & Jeff Drum with Trevor Strong & Noel Anderson finishing third in their Honda Civic FD2

Leave a comment