HomeUncategorizedGlen Smith and John de Veth do the double

Glen Smith and John de Veth do the double

Photo Courtesy of Matt Smith

Qualifying for Round 2 of the 2021 Golden Homes North Island took place earlier today where Glenn Smith and John de Veth took pole for both the 1Hour and 3Hour race at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park .

The 2Hour Qualifying took place first where Brendan Murphy and Brock Cooley stormed to pole position outright and in Class 2 competing in the Ex- Lochlainn Fitzgerald Symes Seat Leon Supercopa setting a laptime of 1:13.167. Todd and Rhys Bawden qualified second outright and first in Class 1 1:13.204 while Wayne Leach and Paul Burborough will start third outright 1:13.491.

David Grigor will start p5 and first in Class 3 with a 1:15.2 while Championship leaders Shane Parsons could only muster P16 and 5th in Class 3 with a 1:18.642. Ken Hunter was able to qualify 13th outright and 6th in Class 1 with a 1:18 flat.

Next was the 1 Hour Qualifying while the pole sitting laptime for Glenn Smith and John de Veth was a 1:03.242 the big storey was that John Midgley was able to put his Ford Falcon V8 Super Tourer on the front row setting a laptime 1:04.849 while Anthony Leighs will start P3 on a 1:05.256.

The Remraf Racing Nissan GTR R35 of Tim Martin and Luke Nueberger qualified 1st in Class 1 and will start P4 overall with a 1:06 flat, while the leading GT-C car will start P5 where Lochlainn Fitzgerald-Symes of a 1:06.229.

Gene Rollinson was the fastest Class 2 car and will start P7 overall of a 1:06.464.

The day finished with the 3Hour where Glenn Smith and John de Veth were able to set a 1:00.899 in Qualifying to start P1 in both overall and GT-A. Darren Kelly qualified second with a 1:01.798. while Neil Foster qualified P3 with a 1:02.685.

Matt Dovey and Jono Lester where fastest in Class 1 setting a laptime of 1:05.075 getting them 5th on the grid while the fastest Class GT-B car was the Aston Martin AMR GT4 GT8R will start P7 setting a laptime of1:07.187.  

Leave a comment

five × two =