HomeUncategorized2021 Golden Holmes North Island Endurance Series Preview

2021 Golden Holmes North Island Endurance Series Preview

The 2021 Golden Holmes North Island Endurance Series gets underway this weekend Saturday 8th
and Sunday 9th May 2021 at Pukekohe Park Raceway.

Sunday racing will begin with the inaugural 2 Hour Clubmans race which caters for any car that can’t
go any faster 1:13 around the V8 Supercar Layout at Pukekohe.

Drivers to look out for this weekend are Allan Sargeant who switches across from the 1Hour race in his Ex-Craig Innes Seat Leon Supercopa, former Honda Cup Champion Shane Parsons and co-driver Lindsay Lyons will share a Honda CR-X and Shaun van Beers, and Scott Smith who return to the series in 2021 this time they will be driving a Seat Leon Supercopa previously campaigned by Neville Stowell in the South Island.

Defending 1Hour champ John de Veth and Glenn Smith will race their McLaren 650 S again this year
while Anthony Leighs has purchased the Ex Neil Foster and Ben Byers Audi R8 as his new weapon.
The drivers in GT-B to look out for are John Midgley in his Ford Falcon V8 Super Tourer as well as Conal Dempsey in his Porsche 991 MR Twin Turbo and Nick Ross in his Nissan Altima L33 TLX car.

In GT-C it will be a battle of the Porsches with the 997’s of Geoff Short, Sean Kirkpatrick as well as
Lochlainn Fitzgerald-Symes who is stepping up from his TCR Honda while the GT4 Cayman of David
Rogers and John Buchanan will be their to pick any falling pieces the may fall their way.

Further down the field Brock Timperley will return in the same Ford Falcon he took to outright
victory in 2019 Pukekohe round with mentor John McIntyre taking co-driver duties. Rhys Gould will
race his Hyundai I30 N TCR as well as 2018 Series winner Cam McCormack who returns to partner
Steff Chambers in a Porsche 996.

The GT-A class in the 3Hour is looking the most competitive than it’s ever been Glenn Smith and
John de Veth will try and defend their title from last season while The Heart of Racing Aston Martin
AMR GT3 of Alex Riberas and Darren Kelly will be very determined to win the North Island Series as
mechanical issues costed them the 2020 title.

Neil Foster and Jonny Reid will return in their Audi R8 while the Lamborghini for Gene Rollinson and
John Penny and the Nissan GTR R35 GT3 of Lance Hughes and Chris van der Drift won’t be worth
dismissing either.

Further down the field the DFM Audi of Matt Dovey and Jono Lester will be looking to beat as many
GT-A cars as possible.

Spectator can enjoy the racing for Free for Round 1 if you can’t make track side you can tune in by watching the Live Timing on Race Monitor or you can watch the action live on Sky Sport 8 courtesy of The Heart of Racing.

TV times for Sunday: (Sky Sport 8)

  • One-Hour race: 11.30 am
  • Three-Hour race: 1.30 pm
  • Two-Hour 9.00 am (not on TV)

Leave a comment